Pulling Up my NaNoWriMo Stakes

Long time no blog.

It’s almost the end of November, and that also means it’s almost the end of National Novel Writing Month. I didn’t think I would be able to do it this year, given everything that was going on, but thanks to a major life change and the encouragement of a friend, I dove in.

I started out pretty strong. I was meeting my word count goals. But after a while, I slowed my pace and felt the stress start to settle in around week two or so.

Mind you, I still tried to write. I even had a good catch up day, but could never fully capitalize on it. What led me to stop participating in NaNoWriMo was something that was literally right in front of my face.

I had a lot of words, but I had no idea just where my story was going, or where I wanted it to go. However, what I did write was enough to get some sort of an idea going, and that branched off into many more. I feel that now, I have enough to let the story (and ideas) simmer and grow, and that’s what led me to quit NaNoWriMo.

As for the story I’m putting on hold, I will most likely look at it a good while from now, pick out the good, and reconstruct it again.

 

Take care, everyone!

Leave a Reply

